Page 1 of 2

Standalone RTH v2

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:39 pm
by OwnZ joO
Standalone RTH

What is it?
An application that allows you to connect to a debug xbox and make changes to the map you're playing in real time.

How does it work?
Most xbox's just have one thread running, but debug xbox's have another thread that listen's for a tcp connection. This allows you to connect to a debug xbox and send and receive information while you are playing a game. Xbox7887 and Kornman01 made YeloDebug.dll, making it easy to communicate with a debug xbox, so I simply implemented a way to make use of real time halo.

Why did you make another app? Why didn't you just add it to Entity?
First and foremost, I didn't want to have to make a bunch of changes to Entity's code, because I'm lazy and it's hard to work with.
Secondly, having it in a separate app gives you the ability to use it with any version of Entity that you choose(or any map editor that closes the File when it's not reading or writing to it). I think it's a lot better to have the freedom to use whichever program you like.

What is different in v2?
In v1, when you synced, it would sync the whole tag to the xbox, as Detox pointed out, this can cause problems, even if you sync the meta without modifying it. In v2, it now will only sync the changes that you have made from the time you opened the tag in Standalone RTH until you sync. This should help to avoid some of the freezing caused by syncing values that shouldn't be. This should hopefully work with any tag that can be modified with Real Time Halo.

Again, all the hard work of this came from xbox7887 and Kornman01, thanks to them.

Pics

Image

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:13 pm
by Eaton
Awesome work! :D

But again, I still cannot open it! :evil: What are you programming this in? An Old version of C#?

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:33 pm
by OwnZ joO
Visual C# 2008 Express Edition

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:35 pm
by Eaton
:? Perhaps one of your dlls is bad?

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:00 pm
by LuxuriousMeat
Eaton wrote:Awesome work! :D

But again, I still cannot open it! :evil: What are you programming this in? An Old version of C#?
Do you have .NET framework 3.5?

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:00 pm
by Eaton
LuxuriousMeat wrote:
Eaton wrote:Awesome work! :D

But again, I still cannot open it! :evil: What are you programming this in? An Old version of C#?
Do you have .NET framework 3.5?
Yes. .NET Framework 3.5 SP1.

Nothing on my PC is outdated. I think it's just Vista. :cry:

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:19 pm
by OwnZ joO
It's actually .Net 2.0, I changed it since it didn't require anything from 3.5

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:20 pm
by Eaton
OwnZ joO wrote:It's actually .Net 2.0, I changed it since it didn't require anything from 3.5
I can run .NET 2.0 things fine. :? Can you post the source so I can try and debug it?

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:00 pm
by Themandyou
I can't even open it. IT crashes immediately, and asks me to debug.

It's rather hard to debug without the source code...

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:10 pm
by OwnZ joO
I uploaded the source in the original post.

I don't know what's wrong with vista here, I didn't use anything special. A simple form with a split container, a couple buttons, a textbox, and a treeview. Maybe it has to do with YeloDebug, it might call dlls that Vista doesn't have or something.

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:06 pm
by Themandyou
'The type or namespace "YeloDebug" or "Xbox" could not be found.'

I didn't take anything out when I opened it...

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:29 pm
by OwnZ joO
Something that I moved must have been referenced and once I deleted the bin folder it was gone I guess. Try now, I uploaded new versions, hopefully they work.

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:32 pm
by -DeToX-
Regardless of your problem, you do know some tags will freeze even when poking clean tags? The values loaded into memory for some tags aren't the same in memory, and if changed will freeze your xbox.

That's why its better to have a program with a meta editor and have an option to poke values only changed in the meta editor since the tag was loaded.

But cool I suppose, even though most of it was xbox7887 :p

Oh and plz no excal

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:48 pm
by Themandyou
This time no errors, just a lot of warnings, and no success. vshost.exe just doesn't run from the source, or "Standalone RTH has stopped working" pops up before anything else. I even tried uninstalling .net 3.5...

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:12 am
by Eaton
My code correctors are going crazy in this source. It's apparently full of errors. Eh, I think I'll try and make one that will work on Vista.

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:47 am
by OwnZ joO
Eaton wrote:My code correctors are going crazy in this source. It's apparently full of errors. Eh, I think I'll try and make one that will work on Vista.
I don't know why you get tons of errors, if it compiles then it shouldn't have any errors... It must be a vista thing or something.

Edit: I downloaded the source and opened it, and it builds fine. The downloaded app ran for me too.

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:23 am
by DarkShallFall
-DeToX- wrote:Regardless of your problem, you do know some tags will freeze even when poking clean tags? The values loaded into memory for some tags aren't the same in memory, and if changed will freeze your xbox.

That's why its better to have a program with a meta editor and have an option to poke values only changed in the meta editor since the tag was loaded.

But cool I suppose, even though most of it was xbox7887 :p

Oh and plz no excal
Yea most tags will ether take way too damn long, or the tag will freeze your xbax. biped and mode and vehi are most likely to freeze. scnr, matg, mulg, and sbsp will take forever so just use ftp if your dealing with them.

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 5:59 pm
by Themandyou
The source doesn't build right. I tried putting the "HaloMap.csproj" in the main folder and it eliminated all the rrors about "Halomap" stuff not being used. IS there other stuff moved around that's screwing it up?

And with that move, I don't have any errors or warnings, but it refuses to run.

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:41 am
by OwnZ joO
Are you on vista, because it builds fine for me... I don't know what the problem is with vista, so I don't know how to fix it.

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:18 pm
by Themandyou
Yes, infact I am. Running it in compatibility mode doesn't work either.

I should dual boot Vista and XP anyway.