(ce) How to make a custom main menu!

This is where the Admins will put tutorials submitted by users.
Post Reply
User avatar
Cryticfarm





Posts: 3611
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 7:23 pm
Location: canada
Contact:

(ce) How to make a custom main menu!

Post by Cryticfarm »

How to make a custom main menu!
Stuff You need:
1. Guerilla (maybe kornman)
2. Sapien
3. Tool
4. Halo ce
5. A brain that can think

Introduction:
Ducktape has asked me how I have made my custom infinity ui and due to some good comments it has inspired me to make one. If it doen't work please post here. Anyway I hope this help alot of people.You should have a ok knowledge of hek.

Instructions:
1) Open guerilla (the hardest part)
2) Open the scenario you want to use as your ui. It should be in tags\levels\mapname or tags\levels\test (Ill provide the link to there scenarios for the test maps at the botttom
Image

3)Go to file>save as. Then go to tags\levels\ui, back-up your ui.scenario(if you have it) and make the scenario your using as your ui named ui and if you don't have your ui folder in your levels folder make one.
Image

4) Near the top where it says skies change the type to mainmenu instead of multiplayer.
Image

5) Now scroll down to vehicles, press delete all and say yes to the box that says are you sure. Do the same with Vehicle palette, Player starting locations, Netgame Flags, netgame equipment, and starting equipment. Maybe anything that has to AI (I'm not sure if you can use ai in a main menu)
Image

6) Save your scenario and close guerilla
7) Open your scenario in sapien
8 )In the hierarchy view go to Mission>Game Data>Camera Points and click it
Image

9) In the properties palette change the name to cut1 or whatever you want but it is recommended you put 1 at the end of it to make it easier to keep track when scripting.
Image

10) Now go around your map the way you want it to go pressing space every time you go like a bit longer then the bloodgulch base. It should make camera points. Remember that you game view is exactly what it will look like when you reach that point. Rotation and everything. Try to make then as spaced out evenly as much as possible. TIP: Try to go through tunnels unless they are dark.
11) Number all of them in order cut1, cut2, cut3, etc.
12) Minimize sapien
13) Open notepad and type this script

Code: Select all

(script startup set_cam
(begin
	(camera_set cut1 0)

)
)
(script continuous cut_anything
(begin
	(camera_set cut1 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut2 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut3 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut4 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut5 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut6 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut7 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut8 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut9 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut10 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut11 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut12 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut13 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut14 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut15 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut16 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut17 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut18 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut19 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut20 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut21 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut22 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut23 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut24 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut25 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut26 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut27 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut28 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut29 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut30 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut31 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut32 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut33 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut34 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut35 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut36 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut37 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut38 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut39 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut40 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut41 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut42 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut43 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut44 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut45 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut46 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut47 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut48 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut49 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut50 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut51 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut52 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut53 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut54 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut55 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut56 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut57 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut58 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut59 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut60 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut61 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut62 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut63 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut64 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut65 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut66 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut67 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut68 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut69 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut70 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut71 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut72 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut73 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut74 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut75 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut76 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut77 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut78 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut79 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut80 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut81 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut82 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut83 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut84 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut85 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut86 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut87 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut88 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut89 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut90 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut91 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut92 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut93 100)
	(sleep 50)

)
)
This one is my very long one. As you can see I have 93 camera points. Say if you had only 30 camera points then delete everything until 30, so your script would look like this

Code: Select all

)
)
(script continuous cut_anything
(begin
	(camera_set cut1 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut2 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut3 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut4 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut5 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut6 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut7 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut8 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut9 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut10 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut11 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut12 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut13 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut14 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut15 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut16 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut17 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut18 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut19 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut20 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut21 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut22 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut23 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut24 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut25 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut26 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut27 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut28 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut29 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set cut30 100)

)
)
Say if your camera points were named camera1, camera2 etc so cut wouldn't work. To fix this in notepad go to edit>replace In find what put in cut and in the replace box make it camera then press replace all and all the cut will turn in to camera.
Now you should have this.

Code: Select all

(script startup set_cam
(begin
	(camera_set camera1 0)

)
)
(script continuous camera_anything
(begin
	(camera_set camera1 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera2 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera3 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera4 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera5 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera6 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera7 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera8 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera9 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera10 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera11 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera12 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera13 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera14 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera15 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera16 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera17 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera18 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera19 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera20 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera21 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera22 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera23 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera24 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera25 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera26 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera27 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera28 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera29 100)
	(sleep 50)
	(camera_set camera30 100)
	(sleep 50)

)
)
Now press save as. Pull down the dropdown box beside Save as type: and change that to All Files. Name it camera_loop.hsc even if your camera things are called cut or something thats not camera. The .hsc is important. Save it in data\levels make a new folder called ui if you don't have it and in the ui folder make a new folder called scripts.
Image

14) Maximize sapian and go to file>compile scripts and click on it. If you get errors in your game window its probably because you named something your script didn't have. Maybe you put a space after camera3 but your script said you didn't have a space so it gave you an error (which is bad). Now save your ui.scenario.
15) Now compile your map in tool by opening your command prompt thats in C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo Custom edition and type tool build-cache-file levels\ui\ui
16) Play ce to see your ui.

Thats the end of the tutorial remember if you have troubles add me at [email protected] or PM me. It may seem confusing but after the first time its simple.
Now be happy with your new ui!!!!
http://hce.halomaps.org/index.cfm?pg=3&fid=2620[/color][/color]
Last edited by Cryticfarm on Wed May 30, 2007 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
StalkingGrunt911




Recreator Connoisseur Acolyte Coroner
Sigma Pyre

Posts: 3618
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 12:30 pm
Location: Florida!
Contact:

Post by StalkingGrunt911 »

Sounds awesome, do you happen to have a video by any chance?
User avatar
JunkfoodMan





Posts: 1061
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:18 am
Location: London, Englandia

Post by JunkfoodMan »

There's a Video tutorial by dg945. Check TheGhost's tutorial resource here.

Nice tutorial, I've tried both tutorials but Sapien/a hobo seems to close. ;_;
Image
wat
User avatar
Cryticfarm





Posts: 3611
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 7:23 pm
Location: canada
Contact:

Post by Cryticfarm »

My mic seems to amplifie background sound but i'll make one eventually...
User avatar
halo0001





Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: USA

Post by halo0001 »

i dont understand i followed this tut but when i compiled and played my ui had no text what did i do wrong? i was trying to use A30 scnr and the .map is like 98 mbs wtf
Image
User avatar
Cryticfarm





Posts: 3611
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 7:23 pm
Location: canada
Contact:

Post by Cryticfarm »

Works perfectly for me. Are you sure you did it completely properly...
User avatar
halo0001





Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: USA

Post by halo0001 »

like it comes up and flys around and all but no text its wierd mb ill re try later
Image
User avatar
Cryticfarm





Posts: 3611
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 7:23 pm
Location: canada
Contact:

Post by Cryticfarm »

It's either you extract the scenario (No scenery) or get it. You probrably didn't extract it right. You should try with the test map scenarios first.
Post Reply