Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Discussion about modding Halo 3.
User avatar
LuxuriousMeat





Posts: 824
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 6:43 pm
Location: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Contact:

Post by LuxuriousMeat »

DEEhunter wrote:
LuxuriousMeat wrote:

Code: Select all

public enum ImageKey : short
    {
        AButton              = 0x8480,
        BButton              = 0x8481,
        XButton              = 0x8482,
        YButton              = 0x8483,
        LeftShoulderButton   = 0x8484,
        RightShoulderButton  = 0x8485,
        LeftTrigger          = 0x8486,
        RightTrigger         = 0x8487,
        DPadUp               = 0x8488,
        DPadDown             = 0x8489,
        DpadLeft             = 0x848A,
        DPadRight            = 0x848B,
        StartButton          = 0x848C,
        BackButton           = 0x848D,
        LeftThumbStickStick  = 0x848E,
        RightThumbStickStick = 0x848F
    }
That shoudl actually inherit from ushort, not short.
Image
-DeToX-




Illusionist Recreator Connoisseur Acolyte
Sigma Decryptor Droplet Pyre
Blacksmith Socialist New Age System Engineer
ONI

Posts: 4589
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: ...

Post by -DeToX- »

Anyone know where the Map_ID is calculated/grabbed from?

I tried building .info files, so I added an existing map(deadlock.map) and it wont work if I change the map ID in the .info, it must remain the same, so until I know where map_ID is retrieved from, I can't build any new map slots for new maps.
Image
User avatar
grimdoomer




System Engineer

Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:36 pm

Post by grimdoomer »

Maby it's in the scenario?
Image
AI Zones in MP | Ambiance | Gravemind Beta v1.1
Aumaan Anubis wrote:Grimdoomer. The first person ever to mod Halo 2 Vista.
-DeToX-




Illusionist Recreator Connoisseur Acolyte
Sigma Decryptor Droplet Pyre
Blacksmith Socialist New Age System Engineer
ONI

Posts: 4589
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: ...

Post by -DeToX- »

I don't think so... I made a quick check there and didn't see it... It's possible I overlooked it, but I don't think so.
Image
User avatar
kornman00




ONI New Age

Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 6:30 pm
Contact:

Post by kornman00 »

If you change the id used in the mapinfo files, you have to update the id stored in the map's tag data with the same value. So you won't be doing this anytime soon since you can't resign the maps on retail machines.

Also, any maps you place in the maps directory, along with their associated blf files will be automatically loaded by the game.
-DeToX-




Illusionist Recreator Connoisseur Acolyte
Sigma Decryptor Droplet Pyre
Blacksmith Socialist New Age System Engineer
ONI

Posts: 4589
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: ...

Post by -DeToX- »

kornman00 wrote:If you change the id used in the mapinfo files, you have to update the id stored in the map's tag data with the same value. So you won't be doing this anytime soon since you can't resign the maps on retail machines.

Also, any maps you place in the maps directory, along with their associated blf files will be automatically loaded by the game.
Yep. I posted this before I talked to you on AIM hehe, so its all good now. Thanks for your help. ;p
Image
Choking Victim





Posts: 552
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 4:12 am

Post by Choking Victim »

Still no news on string id's? I know that in the beta you had to add 1173 to the string id value if it was greater than or equal to 1000. But I think that was just a quick fix that didn't always work. I hope that bit of info helps at least :\ .
User avatar
DEEhunter





Posts: 897
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 4:04 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by DEEhunter »

Code: Select all

0x00 = Battle Rifle
0x01 = Assault Rifle
0x02 = Plasma Pistol
0x03 = Spiker
0x04 = SMG
0x05 = Unknown
0x06 = Energy Sword
0x07 = Magnum
0x08 = Needler
0x09 = Plasma Rifle
0xA = Rocket Launcher
0xB = Shotgun
0xC = Sniper Rifle
0xD = Brute Shot
0xE = Depleted Sword
0xF = Beam Rifle
0x10 = Spartan Laser
0x11 = None
0x12 = Gravity Hammer
0x13 = Mauler
0x14 = Flame Thrower
0x15 = Missile Pod
0xFF = Random
Weapon Enum. Completed by me.
Image

Deviantart | My City | Wmclan | Gamertag | [url=irc://irc.halomods.com/melon]#melon[/url]
Shock120





Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:55 am

Post by Shock120 »

Is there anyone doing any research on the Halo 3's net code or AI?
Is there anyone planning on trying to make everything sync? from the previous games. like AI, scripts, dialogue/voices etc.

Is there anything that can be learned from Halo 3? which can be added to Halo 1 PC/CE or Halo 2 V.
Last edited by Shock120 on Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Shock120 on XLink & XBC
User avatar
grimdoomer




System Engineer

Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:36 pm

Post by grimdoomer »

Shock120 wrote:Is there anyone doing any research on the Halo 3's net code or AI?
Is there anyone planning on trying to make everything sync? from the previous games. like AI etc.

Is there anything that can be learned from Halo 3? which can be added to
Halo 1 PC/CE or Halo 2 V.
You can't take a game and just make things sync. You need the source code. Also since only a select few can actually run unsigned maps, there isnt to much research being conducted.
Image
AI Zones in MP | Ambiance | Gravemind Beta v1.1
Aumaan Anubis wrote:Grimdoomer. The first person ever to mod Halo 2 Vista.
TheGeneral





Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:43 am

Post by TheGeneral »

Hey guys, I was trying to figure out how to decompress Halo 3's asset data and I'm almost 100% sure its compressed with lzma.

If you look at the start of the compressed data blocks in the map file they all start with a 5 byte sequence similar to this.

Image

I'm pretty sure those are the decoder properties for decoding but I cant test with knowing the uncompressed size of the data, which I assume would be located somewhere in else in the map. Another clue that tipped me of is that there were a lot of references to zlib when I searched through the strings of a decompiled xex.

If anyone else has any information that would be great!
-DeToX-




Illusionist Recreator Connoisseur Acolyte
Sigma Decryptor Droplet Pyre
Blacksmith Socialist New Age System Engineer
ONI

Posts: 4589
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: ...

Post by -DeToX- »

I was specifically told that zlib instance isn't actually used with raw.
Image
User avatar
Eaton




Enthraller

Posts: 1639
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: USA

Post by Eaton »

Just a guess, but do you think it would use the same compression used for Halo 1 Xbox maps?
Image
Choking Victim





Posts: 552
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 4:12 am

Post by Choking Victim »

Eaton wrote:Just a guess, but do you think it would use the same compression used for Halo 1 Xbox maps?
Halo 1 xbox maps use zlib...so no.
TheGeneral





Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:43 am

Post by TheGeneral »

I read zlib uses a compression method called deflate, I always thought zlib used lzma. So if its not zlib it could still be lzma.
User avatar
shade45




Translator Artisan Enthraller Logistician
Stylist Wave Firestorm New Age

Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 1:04 pm

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Post by shade45 »

After trying to edit some Unicode strings and having the map fail to load I found out that the unicode index and tables are hashed with SHA-1 and the hash is strored in the matg with the other Unicode information :)

Here's the updated struct.

Code: Select all

    struct Locale
    {
        int Count;
        int Size;
        int TableIndexOffset; // Address
        int TableOffset;      // Address
        byte[] IndexHash;    // Len20
        byte[] TableHash;    // Len20
        byte[] Unused;    // Len12
    }
User avatar
grimdoomer




System Engineer

Posts: 1440
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:36 pm

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Post by grimdoomer »

Nice Find!
Image
AI Zones in MP | Ambiance | Gravemind Beta v1.1
Aumaan Anubis wrote:Grimdoomer. The first person ever to mod Halo 2 Vista.
User avatar
SPARTAN-OMEGA





Posts: 497
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:09 am
Location: stuck on delta halo...
Contact:

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Post by SPARTAN-OMEGA »

Very nice find.
Image
Join Halo 2.5 at http://halo25pro.yourfreebb.com/index.php
dont delete its not over the 5 line max in rules
-DeToX-




Illusionist Recreator Connoisseur Acolyte
Sigma Decryptor Droplet Pyre
Blacksmith Socialist New Age System Engineer
ONI

Posts: 4589
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: ...

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Post by -DeToX- »

shade45 wrote:After trying to edit some Unicode strings and having the map fail to load I found out that the unicode index and tables are hashed with SHA-1 and the hash is strored in the matg with the other Unicode information :)
Wasn't that posted here already..? Swear it was.
Image
User avatar
shade45




Translator Artisan Enthraller Logistician
Stylist Wave Firestorm New Age

Posts: 2270
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 1:04 pm

Re: Halo 3 Retail Game Research

Post by shade45 »

-DeToX- wrote:
shade45 wrote:After trying to edit some Unicode strings and having the map fail to load I found out that the unicode index and tables are hashed with SHA-1 and the hash is strored in the matg with the other Unicode information :)
Wasn't that posted here already..? Swear it was.
Not sure. I didn't want to search 30+ pages though.
Post Reply